How to Reset MacBook Pro Without Losing Data?

Suppose you own a MacBook pro which has been helping you with tasks for a while. You probably have a lot of data and essential things in there, but it has gotten slower lately, and you are wondering what to do? Well, your vital data is on that MacBook Pro, and you can’t reset it because you might lose data. If you have old pictures of family or any piece of memory in videos, you would hate to lose them, so is there a way to reset MacBook Pro without losing data, or restore in case you lose it?

However, what if we told you there is a way or several ways to overcome that problem. It’s one of the issues which surprisingly many people with MacBook pro have to face. Because often, your MacBook pro can get slow for no reason, and the only option is to reset it, but you need not worry because we will explain how to reset MacBook pro without losing data.

There are several ways, and we will go through each. But first, what makes your MacBook pro slow, and should you worry about it?

What Might Be Making Your MacBook Pro Slow

There are a few reasons why it may be slow, but for starters, most of the time the problem lies in the disk storage. You may have too many things that are taking up storage and memory. Sometimes deleting the files may not be enough, and in that case, you have to reset the MacBook pro and keep only the critical few files.

Some people also say that they have downloaded an app or software that takes most of the memory or all of it, resulting in slowness and lag. Deleting the files might not be enough again because even after deleting, the software’s leaves behind some files and they need to be exterminated as well.

So, we will tell you how to reset MacBook Pro without losing data, or saving data that is important to you.

Different Methods of Resetting MacBook Pro Without Losing Data

There are a few ways on how to reset MacBook pro without losing data, but these are the most notable ones, and let’s discuss these further.

The Backup Method

This method consists of a three-part solution and is one of the safest and easiest ways.

  • Step 1:

This method works for all macs, and is simple. First of all, you need to have software such as “Time Machine” or “EaseUs”, which can help you save your data to an external hard drive. Time Machine is a built-in feature in MacBook and is used for backing up the data.
MAC
Time Machine is a bit different than EaseUs because the former can only back up your data in the external hard drive, while EaseUs can store it in an internal as well as an external hard drive. Unlike Time Machine that only stores things which are supported, EaseUs can give you the option of selectively storing any item you want.

That gives you a bit more flexible options, and you can see the different features of each software, and use the one you find most suitable. Since you can also compress your files and save space in EaseUs, we will instruct you on how to use it, instructions for other software’s can be similar, but sometimes a bit different.

  • Step 2:

Now, you need to connect your external drive to the software. After that, make a project with any name by clicking the option “add new project” on the bottom-left icon.

Then, it will ask you about details and where to save the backup files, but the destination and click “ok”. Then you can open the project and save all the files you want to backup. It’s recommended to only backup the files which are essential and useful.

Now you don’t have to worry because you just saved the data somewhere else, and you can simply reset the MacBook pro.

  • Step 3:

Although the files are backed up, the hard part is not done yet. Resetting a MacBook is way more complicated than resetting any other device. You need to make preparations and then proceed with the step.

Firstly, open iTunes and check settings, then click on “deauthorize this computer”, after inputting your ID and password, deauthorize your iTunes on the device.

Then go into system settings, and turn off the FileVault by clicking the lock icon and unlocking it. It will ask you for a password and account, after that it will be done. Sign out from both iCloud and iMessage, and confirm that you want to remove data from the Mac.

Restart your Mac and hold “Command + R” keys, then open the Utility option, and click on Terminal. There you have to type “xartutil –erase-all” and click on Return. Then type yes, and press Return again. After that, click on Terminal and then Quit Terminal.

In MacBook pro, once you open the disk utilities, you can erase the macOS, and then reinstall it, which completes your resetting, and you can finally get the data in your backup.

  • Step 4:

Now, after resetting your MacBook pro, you need to connect the external drive to your Mac, then open the software you used to create backup files, which in our case is EaseUp.

Open the software and click the project that contains the backup files. Click on restore and wait until it’s fully restored. The backup files will either be in their original place or the destination you chose.

That concludes the first method, although it may seem hard, it is the best approach if you haven’t backed up your data yet. But there is also a way if you accidentally reset without backing up the data, and we will tell you about it next.

The Restore After Reset Method

This is another method, but most avoid it because there’s a risk you may lose something. We don’t know when something gets overwritten in the resetting process, which leads to the loss of that file altogether.

So, this method should be the last try you should do if you reset your Mac accidentally and want to gather as much old data as possible. The instructions are simple and following.

  • First, you will need software like iBeesoft Data Recovery, which is used to recover any lost data from MacBook. After you download it, do as follows.
  • Click on scan and wait for the scanning process to complete. Remember that things may not be fully recovered, because some data can get overwritten and permanently lost in the reset process. So, any data that can be saved will appear in the list after the scan is done.
  • All you have to do after is just press recover, which will recover the data back into your MacBook pro. This is easy, but very risky, so be careful when you do it. Select only the critical data for recovery and avoid the old apps which slowed the MacBook.

Why You Should Be Careful When You Reset Your MacBook Pro

There may be many reasons for resetting your MacBook pro, for example, your Mac has gotten slower, or you think you need a fresh start with only essential data. But be careful with backing up the process, because if you do make a mistake, it may result in loss of that data.

There is much software which helps in different ways, and it’s best to research all and find one which you understand the most. Because then you can be confident and rest without worries, and once the process is done, you can quickly get the data back.

It’s advised to have a professional do it for you, and in your presence, so you also understand it. Because data can be priceless, or even old memories that can’t be lost, should be backed up.

Resetting MacBook pro might be a necessary step in the future, but now you won’t have to worry about backing the data, because there are multiple software’s that not just back them up, but also recover data in case you lose it. This software should be kept even if you don’t want to reset because you can have data in backup at all times, and since it can be compressed, it won’t take much space for you.

Other software for recovering data in case they are erased can also be great for you in daily use. But you should know now that resetting MacBook pro is not an easy task, and the risks are still present in case you make a mistake. So, we recommend you bring your MacBook Pro to a computer shop and have an expert help you restore or backup your data.

For just a little money, you can guarantee yourself a safe reset and have your MacBook pro working great again. But if you don’t want to do that, it’s still possible with these software’s, so do give them a try, and save your data before resetting anything.

Read about: How To Tell If Airpods Are Fake? || Authentic Guide